Selling Things

A few weeks ago, my hours at work were cut down due to the quiet winter season. Before the cut, I was doing any where from 25 – 32 hours a week, but now, I typically only work a maximum of 18 hours. On the one hand it is AWESOME having so much free time, and I am luuuurving all the extra sleep-ins on my days off. On the other hand, this has really slowed down my savings and I’m worried I’ll get too used to being lazy. When I eventually start working more hours again, or get a new job, full time hours are going to be a major shock to my system. Bummer.

Luckily for me, I had recently gotten back into selling things online to earn money outside of my job. Not only is this “hobby” bringing in a little extra money here and there, but it is also helping me to be more productive in my free time.

I started with things I already owned and no longer wanted, but I quickly ran out of things to sell. I’ve now started buying things second hand with the intent to sell them on. In all honesty, the amount of money I make from selling things online really doesn’t compensate for the time, effort and energy it takes to actually sell the items. Trawling through op-shops, taking photos, uploading & cropping them, listing the auctions, packing, posting etc…it’s all quite time consuming and if I was paying myself by the hour, I’d be losing money. But I enjoy it. I feel productive. I feel motivated. I feel a real sense of achievement and satisfaction every time I make a sale because I love that feeling of independence; the feeling that I am capable of creating my own income.

Here are some of the things I’ve picked up or sold lately:

18838452_1762023393815011_1828893259_o
A really cute floral bra by Dimity So.
18870020_1762011823816168_755728093_o
A Victoria’s Secret exercise bra. FYI, there is only one Victoria’s Secret shop in New Zealand (at the airport), so this was an awesome find.
18901253_1762029253814425_987746244_o
The prettiest Pleasure State bra. I actually almost kept this for myself!
18927262_1761969913820359_1175047524_o
A lovely black top by Dotti. I would have kept this if it was my size.
d2
Denim Button Up from Factorie. This was actually out of my sister’s wardrobe.

 

6373_35761_39127
This really nice pair of slouchy trousers by Witchery
Leave a Reply

